Tuesday, October 18, 2022

The 2021-2022 Faculty Awards Ceremony was held Monday, Oct. 17, 2022, in the Old Capitol Senate Chambers. Twenty-five faculty members were honored during the event and gathered after for light refreshments and conversation. This in-person recognition typically happens annually but had been paused due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Congratulations to the 2021-2022 honorees: 

Named Chairs
Chair appointments are the highest honor given to faculty who have demonstrated outstanding achievements in their field and hold the promise of future research, instruction, and scholarly innovations. 

  • Frederick Boehmke, Professor, Political Science, Marvin and Rose Lee Pomerantz Chair in Political Science
    This award supports a legislative studies scholar at the university. Boehmke’s research areas of interest include American politics, political methodology, formal theory, and the effect of direct democracy on interest groups. He currently serves as director of the Iowa Social Science Research Center.
  • Gary Pierce, Professor, Health and Human Physiology, Russell B. Day and Florence D. Day Distinguished Endowed Faculty Chair
    Pierce is a researcher in human physiology. He is an Associate Member of the Environmental Health Sciences Research Center at the UI, a fellow of the American Heart Association, and currently serves as both Chair (DEO) of the Department of Health and Human Physiology and Director of Graduate Programs.
  • Frederick Skiff, Professor, Physics and Astronomy, Harriet and Harold Brady Chair in Laser Physics
    This is an award used to support a current faculty member in the Department of Physics and Astronomy with a concentration in laser science. His research includes laser spectroscopy and plasma physics, nonlinear dynamics, optics, and photonics. Skiff currently serves as Vice-Chair of the Division of Plasma Physics for the American Physical Society.

Named Professorships
Named faculty positions and professorships honor the academic achievements of faculty while recognizing the generosity of donors to the academic enterprise. 

  • John D’Agata, Professor, English, F. Wendell Miller Professor
    D’Agata has been a faculty member of the university’s graduate Nonfiction Writing Program since 2005, having revamped graduate and undergraduate nonfiction writing courses throughout his time at the university. He was also previously named the M.F. Carpenter Professor of English and Creative Writing.
  • Anna Malkova, Professor, Biology, Roy J. Carver Professor
    This named professorship was created to provide recognition of outstanding research and scholarly contributions to an educator’s respective department. Malkova’s research is in genetics with a specialization in the repair of double-strand breaks and break-induced replication.
  • Isabel Muzzio, Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences, Ronnie Ketchel Professor in Psychology
    This named professorship is awarded to those who use behavioral, cognitive, neurobiological, developmental, clinical, social, biobehavioral, and or computational approaches to understanding learning and behavioral change in humans or nonhuman species. Muzzio’s long-term goal as a scholar is to advance the biological understanding of memory.
  • Yu-Hsiang Wu, Associate Professor, Communication Sciences and Disorders, F. Wendell Miller Associate Professor
    Wu's research focuses on audiology and hearing science. He received his PhD in Hearing Sciences from Iowa and holds the long-term research goal of improving hearing aid outcomes for older adults.

Collegiate Fellows 
In 2001, the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences initiated the Collegiate Fellows designation, through which senior faculty members not already holding named appointments are honored for their records of sustained productivity and distinction. 

  • Benjamin Coelho, Professor, Music, CLAS Collegiate Fellow
    Coelho has been a professor of bassoon at the University of Iowa since 1998. Before his position at Iowa, Coelho was the Vice-Dean of Bassoon Professor at the Federal University of Minas Gerais in Brazil. Throughout his career as both musician and educator, he has had the opportunity to perform and teach in several countries. Through this wide reach, Coelho has been able to impact and inspire many students, all while remaining dedicated to his career as a performer.
  • Elizabeth Heineman, Professor, History; Gender, Women’s and Sexuality Studies
    Heineman's research interest includes modern Germany and Europe, gender and sexuality, historical memory, human rights, and atrocity. She formerly serves as Chair (DEO) of the Department of History and is a recipient of the AICGS/DAAD Prize for Distinguished Scholarship in German and European Studies.

Collegiate Scholar
The Collegiate Scholar award was inaugurated in 2008 to recognize mid-career faculty for exceptional achievement. 

Dean’s Scholar
The Dean's Scholar Award recognizes faculty candidates for promotion who excel in both teaching and scholarship or creative work. 

  • Allison Jaynes, Associate Professor, Physics and Astronomy
  • Alfred Martin, Associate Professor, Communication Studies; African American Studies

Distinguished Associate Professor of Instruction
The Distinguished Professor and Distinguished Associate Professor of Instruction Award recognizes candidates for advancement to Associate Professor of Instruction who excel in teaching, institutional and professional service, and their record of publications at the time of advancement. 

  • Bri Swope, Associate Professor of Instruction, Health and Human Physiology Distinguished Professor of Instruction

Distinguished Professor of Instruction
The Distinguished Professor of Instruction Award recognizes candidates for advancement to Professor of Instruction who excel in teaching, institutional and professional service, and their record of publications at the time of advancement. 

Collegiate Teaching Award
Collegiate Teaching Awards are given each year to faculty who demonstrate outstanding performance in the classroom, laboratory, or studio. 

International Engagement Teaching Award
The International Engagement Teaching Award, jointly awarded by the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and University of Iowa International Programs, is given annually to a CLAS faculty member in recognition of excellence. 

Outstanding Outreach and Public Engagement Award
The Outstanding Outreach and Public Engagement Award honors a CLAS faculty member who has engaged in activities that bring the University to broader communities in significant and sustained ways.